Odette * VDA4905 * AS2 * ORDERS * OFTP2 * VDA4913 * DELFOR * VDA4984 * Internet * VDA4915 * ORDRSP * Edifact * OFTP1 * TCP/IP * DESADV

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Where is ipOFTP suitable?

    It is typically used for receiving and sending orders, call-off orders, delivery slips and invoices in VDA or EDIFACT format.

  • Can I receive and send arbitrary files?

    Yes, communications is not limited to VDA-formats but can transmit arbitrary file formats.

  • Which VDA-file formats can be transmitted through ipOFTP?

    All formats can be transmitted. Communication is not dependent on the format of the file. VDA-formats for call-off orders and delivery slips will be prepared for the screen and as CSV.

  • Which networks is ipOFTP using for communication?

    ipOFTP transmits files via the internet. It requires a connection to the local network. The local network needs to provide a connection to the internet. ipOFTP uses neither ISDN nor ENX.

  • Can I integrate ipOFTP in my ERP/PPC-system?

    Yes. ipOFTP assumes the OFTP-communication. You send a file by pasting it into your communication partner’s output folder. Inbound files can be found in your incoming folder. You can activate processing scripts with ipOFTP or access the files via a network share.

  • How will the conversion from ISDN to TCP/IP be processed?

    You set up the communication tool (in your office) and establish the connection to your communication partners. Automated processing of incoming call-off orders is not required. ipOFTP provides the files prepared for the screen/display and as CSV.

  • How will OFTP and TCP/IP-communication be introduced?

    You set up the communication tool (in your office) and establish the connection to your communication partners. Automated processing of incoming call-off orders is not required. ipOFTP provides the files prepared for the screen/display and as CSV.

  • In which format will the VDA call-off orders be provided?

    Except for the original file the call-off orders will be available as CSV. Of course you will be able see and print the received call-off orders in a legible form.

  • Which version of OFTP supports ipOFTP?

    OFTP1 and OFTP2 are supported via TCP/IP networks hence generally via the internet.

  • What to do when SSID and SFID at the other end of communication are different?

    If you are only receiving incoming connections it is sufficient to set up one account for the respective communication partner. If you are also actively establishing a connection to send files, you need to set up two communication partners with the same IP address.

  • What means SSID and SFID?

    These are the Odette identifications for the system transmitting and processing the files. This distinction was customary in modem times. We do not consider this distinction contemporary. The data processing systems are connected to the internet and can communicate themselves.

  • How to identify the communication partners?

    Both parties are using an ID and a password. You can buy an Odette compliant ID with Odette directly. Please search “Odette” through your search engine. You will choose your password. OFTP passwords are “simple” with a maximum of 8 characters. This information is not hidden, you can find Odette labels and their passwords on the webpages of automobile corporations.

  • What does an Odette label look like?

    They all start with the letter “O” followed by 18 characters assigned by Odette. A maximum of 6 additional characters can be requested and allocated as desired. For example: O0013000999HUBER131

  • Will I require a certificate?

    Yes, if you wish to encrypt the files (while) on the transmission route. Verify which type of files you wish to transmit. Should it only concern call off orders and delivery slips you would most likely not need to encrypt those and can save yourself some time by not doing so.

  • Do I have to buy a certificate from a certification body?

    No. If you do so you will be regularly charged a fee to renew the certificate. The VDA specification is prepared to acknowledge the use of self-signed certificates.

  • What is a self-signed certificate?

    It’s a certificate you issue yourself. Transmit the certificate to your communication partners and have them save it. Then you will be all set to transmit encrypted files.

  • How do I issue a self-signed certificate?

    ipOFTP contains a function you can easily use to issue a self-signed certificate.

  • What information is required for the establishment of an OFTP connection?

    You require a communication partner, his/her IP address and port number. For automobile corporations this information will be publicly available online, your communication partners will require this information from you respectively.

  • What is a port number?

    Establishing an internet connection requires an IP address such as “oftp.konzern.de”, the equivalent to a street name, house number, post code etc. as well as a port number such as “3305” corresponding to a person’s name in the address line.

  • What is the connection between port number and encryption?

    There is none. You can freely use ports and activate or deactivate encryption. TCP/IP has also prevailed because it does not recognise such connections. Used standard ports of ipoftp are 3305 for unencrypted and 6619 for encrypted communication.

  • Can I also exchange files with my business partners using SCP or SFTP?

    Yes, given you know these protocols it is relatively easy. Don’t hesitate to get in touch if you would like us to support you with the set up. Our ipOFTP communication tool is capable of working will all types of internet protocols.

  • How high is the network load through OFTP?

    Call-off orders and delivery notification in VDA format are small: 1-10kB is a common size. Within the IP connection there are 1-8 data packets (Yes, that’s right.) Thus the transmission time of an incoming call-off order is typically far less than a second. When sending ipOFTP uses a maximum of 10kB per second of transmission capacity and consequently does not disturb other use of the internet connection.

  • Odette?

    Eine Vereinigung mehrerer nationaler Automobilverbände. Odette vergibt die Identifikations-Codes, die in der OFTP-Kommunikation verwendet werden.

  • OFTP?

    Von Odette vorgegebenes Kommunikationsprotokoll für die Übermittlung von Dateien. Ursprünglich wurde OFTP über ISDN- und ENX-Leitungen eingesetzt. ipOFTP verwendet OFTP2 und das Internet zur Datenübertragung.

  • VDA 4905, VDA 4984, VDA 4913?

    Vom Verband der Automobilindustrie vorgegebene Standards für die Übermittlung von Lieferabrufen und Lieferdaten. Dateien in diesen Formaten enthalten Termine und Liefermengen für Zulieferteile.

Alle notwendigen Funktionen in einem handlichen Gerät integriert.
My Image

Fragen und Antworten

  • Wofür eignet sich ipOFTP?

    Der übliche Einsatzbereich ist das Empfangen und Versenden von Aufträgen, Abrufen, Lieferscheinen und Rechnungen im VDA- oder EDIFACT-Format.

  • Kann ich beliebige Dateien empfangen und versenden?

    Ja, die Kommunikation ist nicht auf VDA-Formate beschränkt, sondern kann beliebige Dateiformate übertragen.

  • Welche VDA-Dateiformate kann ipoftp übertragen?

    Alle, die Kommunikation ist vom Dateiformat unabhängig. Zusätzlich werden die VDA-Formate für Lieferabrufe und Lieferscheine von ipoftp für die Anzeige und als CSV aufbereitet.

  • Über welche Netzwerke kommuniziert ipoftp?

    ipoftp überträgt Dateien über das Internet. Sie benötigen Anschluss an ein lokales Netzwerk. Dieses Netzwerk muss Internet-Verbindung haben. ipoftp verwendet weder ISDN noch ENX.

  • Kann ich ipoftp in mein ERP/PPS-System integrieren?

    Ja. ipoftp übernimmt die OFTP-Kommunikation. Sie versenden eine Datei, indem Sie sie in den Ausgangsordner eines Kommunikationspartners kopieren. Eingegangene Dateien landen in Ihrem Eingangsordner. Sie können mit ipoftp Verarbeitungsskripte aktivieren oder über eine Netzwerkfreigabe auf die Dateien zugreifen.

  • Wie verläuft die Umstellung von ISDN nach TCP/IP?

    Sie stellen die ipoftp-Kommunikationsbox auf. Die Kommunikationspartner werden nacheinander - so wie der Kunde mitmacht - auf IP-Kommunikation umgestellt. An der internen Verarbeitung und den verwendeten Dateiformaten ändert sich nichts.

  • Wie Verläuft die Neueinführung von OFTP und TCP/IP-Kommunikation?

    Sie stellen die ipoftp-Kommunikationsbox auf und richten die Kommunikationspartner ein. Eine automatische Weiterverarbeitung der eingehenden Lieferabrufe braucht nicht vorhanden zu sein. ipoftp stellt die Dateien für die Anzeige aufbereitet und als CSV zur Verfügung.

  • In welchen Formaten werden VDA-Abrufe bereitgestellt?

    Ausser der Originaldatei stehen die Abrufe als CSV bereit. Natürlich können Sie die eingegangenen Abrufe in lesbarer Form aufbereitet einsehen und drucken.

  • Welche OFTP-Version unterstützt ipoftp?

    Unterstützt wird OFTP1 und OFTP2 über TCP/IP-Netzwerke, also im Regelfall über das Internet.

  • Wie identifizieren sich die Kommunikationspartner?

    Beide verwenden eine Identifikation und ein Passwort. Eine Odette-konforme Identifikation können Sie bei Odette kaufen. Suchen Sie im Internet nach “Odette” und “OSCAR”. Das Passwort vergeben Sie selbst. OFTP-Passworte sind "einfach", die Maximallänge sind 8 Zeichen. Diese Informationen werden nicht geheimgehalten, Sie finden die Odette-Kennungen und -Passworte auf den Internetseiten der Automobilkonzerne.

  • Wie sieht eine Odette-Identifikation aus?

    Sie beginnt mit dem Buchstaben "O", danach kommen 18 Stellen die von Odette vergeben werden, danach bei Bedarf weitere maximal 6 Stellen, die frei belegt werden können. Also etwas in der Art von "O0013000999HUBER131".

  • Benötige ich ein Zertifikat?

    Wenn Sie die Daten auf der Übertragungsstrecke verschlüsseln wollen: Ja. Sehen Sie sich an, welche Art von Daten Sie übertragen werden. Wenn das nur Abrufe und Lieferscheine sind, dann können Sie wahrscheinlich ohne Verschlüsselung auskommen und sich den damit verbundenen Aufwand ersparen.

  • Muss ich ein Zertifikat bei einer Zertifizierungsstelle kaufen?

    Nein. Wenn Sie es tun müssen Sie dieses Zertifikat regelmässig kostenpflichtig erneuern. Die VDA-Spezifikation sieht stattdessen auch den Einsatz von selbstsignierten Zertifikaten vor.

  • Was ist ein selbstsigniertes Zertifikat?

    Das ist ein Zertifikat, das Sie sich selbst ausstellen. Sie übermitteln Ihr Zertifikat an Ihre Kommunikationspartner, die es speichern. Danach können Sie verschlüsselt übertragen.

  • Was komme ich zu einem selbstsignierten Zertifikat?

    ipoftp enthält eine Funktion, mit der Sie ein selbstsigniertes Zertifikat einfach herstellen können.

  • Welche Informationen werden für den Aufbau einer OFTP-Verbindung benötigt?

    Sie benötigen von Ihren Kommunikationspartnern die IP-Adresse und die Port-Nummer. Bei den Automobilkonzernen können Sie diese Angaben im Internet nachsehen. Ihre Kommunikationspartner benötigen entsprechend diese Angaben von Ihnen.

  • Was ist eine Port-Nummer?

    Der Aufbau einer Internetverbindung benötigt eine IP-Adresse wie “oftp.konzern.de” die im Postverkehr Ort, Strasse und Hausnummer entspricht und eine Port-Nummer wie “3305” die der angeschriebenen Person entspricht.

  • Kann ich Dateien auch über SCP oder SFTP mit Geschäftspartnern austauschen?

    Ja, wenn man diese Protokolle kennt ist das relativ einfach. Sprechen Sie uns an, wenn Sie Unterstützung bei der Einrichtung benötigen. Die ipOFTP-Kommunikationsbox beherrscht alle Internetprotokolle.

  • Wie hoch ist die Netzwerkbelastung durch OFTP?

    Lieferabrufe und Liefermeldungen im VDA-Format sind klein: Typische Grössen sind 1 kB bis 10 kB. In der IP-Verbindung sind das also 1 bis 8 Datenpakete. (Sie haben richtig gelesen.) Die Übertragungsdauer eines eingehenden Abrufs ist deshalb im Normalfall erheblich kürzer als 1 Sekunde. Beim Versand verwendet ipOFTP maximal 10 kB / Sekunde Übertragungskapazität, um andere Nutzungen der Internetverbindung nicht zu stören.

Schwarzwald Software Engineering ● 79868 Feldberg ● Tel. +49 (0) 7655 90 99 000 ● Fax +49 (0) 7655 90 99 009
www.swsoftware.deipOFTP bestellenE-MailKontaktImpressum/AGB/Datenschutz